Birkirkara Badminton Club knows its beginnings in the mid-80s to a group of students who attended De La Salle College at Cottonera. They started playing badminton in their free time and, encouraged by Bro Thomas Bilocca, participated in the National Junior Championships under the name of De La Salle Badminton Club. Later on the club welcomed female members and was affiliated to the then Badminton Association of Malta and entered in its competitions.

In the year 2000, as the majority of members of the club were now no more students of De La Salle College, it was decided to transfer the training base to St Aloysius Sports Complex and hence the club changed its name to Birkirkara Badminton Club.

Since then the club kept flourishing, winning a lot of competitions in the process. Its teams have been national champions several times; in fact, Birkirkara Badminton Club has been local champions for the past five seasons (2009/10, 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14).

The club has in its fold several local national champions such as Aldo Polidano, Stefan Salomone, Robert Salomone, Jacqueline De Giovanni (now Abela De Giovanni), Samuel Cali, Stephen Ferrante, Maria Borg, Fiorella M. Farrugia (now Sadowski) and Marica Micallef. These have been national champions for the past seasons in various categories.

The club kept faithful to is origins and has its own nursery, flourishing throughout the years with several youngsters.



President Alfred Polidano
Vice President James Degaetano
Secretary Karen Ferrante
Treasurer Nadia Polidano
Member Joe Seychell
Member David Galea
BM Club Delegate Martin Farrugia
Head Coach Martin Farrugia
Junior Coach Stephen Ferrante
Junior Coach Aldo Polidano
Junior Coach Fiorella Sadowski


c/o 112, Luqa Industrial Estate, Lula LQA 3000

Telephone: +356 7942 0625

Email: info@birkirkarabadmintonclub.com


Juniors & Beginners:
Fridays from 19:30 till 21:00 at St. Aloysius College, B’Kara.

Senior Team:
Mondays and Thursdays from 19:00 till 20:30 at Kirkop Sports Complex.